
Twitter’s new policy for blocking other users lasted less than a day after a massive backlash.
STORY HIGHLIGHTSA revised Twitter policy for blocking other users only lasted hoursThe change would have let blocked users see and retweet the blocker’s postsThe idea was to not prompt retaliation for a visible blockUsers called the change a nightmare, and Twitter responded
(CNN) — Say this for Twitter: They may not always know what their users want, but once they learn what their users don’t want, they fix it in a hurry.
On Thursday, the social site tweaked the way users block others who harass, spam or otherwise bother them. Under the change the blocked user would still be able to see the profile and tweets of the other user, as well as retweet their posts.
Read also:
What Online Communities Can Learn From Twitter's 'Block' Blunder (Wired)
Twitter backtracks on block feature after users revolt (CBS News)
Twitter Reverts Changes To Blocking Functionality After Strong Negative User … (TechCrunch)
Explore: 336 additional articles.